Bringing back the Orange Computer Monthly Giveaway

Starting at the end of August, a winner will be drawn from among the subscribers of this newsletter

Starting in 2014, I regularly wrote an Orange Computer email newsletter and gave away a refurbished laptop to a randomly drawn subscriber every month. Later on, I changed the giveaway prize to a $50 gift card to Orange Computer.

This email is to announce that I am bringing back the monthly giveaway!

Some of you have just recently subscribed and many of you have been reading my emails for years. I haven’t sent out a message to this list in about nine months, so a brief update on what I’ve been up to is in order.

In October of 2022, I took on part time Linux Server Administration contract work for a local La Crosse, Wisconsin company. It was such a good fit for my experience and interests that I just couldn’t bring myself to say “no” to the opportunity. While I have been using the Linux computer operating system for about 20 years, there was still a learning curve that required my attention and focus. I’ve settled into that work and feel comfortable with doing both that and Orange Computer.

In March of 2023, we welcomed a new member to our family: a baby girl, Olivia Marie. She is adorable! I am tempted to include pictures. As a result of having a new little one in our home, our family schedule has had some adjustments.

It has been a good time to review what is important.

I realized that I missed writing and keeping in contact with the people who have supported me and my business over the years.

So I’m back in your email inbox.

Monthly Computer Giveaway Details

You may have noticed that I wrote “computer giveaway” instead of “laptop giveaway”. The winner will be able to choose between a laptop and desktop computer, as one or the other may be a better fit.

Note that if a desktop computer is chosen, a monitor is not included.

Each month, I’ll announce what two models the winner can choose from.

On the last Wednesday of the month, I’ll do the drawing and send an announcement email that includes part of the winner’s email address.

I will also send the winner a separate email letting them know that they won. The winner will need to reply so that we can arrange a time for me to deliver the computer or get their mailing address so that I can ship it to them.

The winner must reply by email to claim their prize and let me know if they want the laptop or the desktop computer. They can also choose between Windows and Linux, for the installed operating system.

While sometimes I may throw in something special, most of the refurbished computer models in the giveaways will be models that I regularly have available for sale.

This month, the laptop is:

The desktop is:

Tech Topics and Tips

In addition to writing about the giveaway and announcing the winner, I also regularly write about tech issues that I commonly see, my solutions to them, my opinions, recommended applications and tech tips.

Reach out with a reply

Feel free to contact me by email, phone, or the contact form on the orangecomputer.us website.

— Matthew from Orange Computer